Recording in the Truck

I tried my digital recorder in the truck. While it recorded fine, it recorded everything.

The reason for this is that the digital recorder has condenser microphones built into it. Condenser microphones have the reputation, deservedly so, for picking up every noise in the room.

In the truck, you can hear road bumps, engine speed, gear shift movements, etc..

So I tried to bring it back and do some “Post production” work on it. I tried noise reduction, I tried equalization, I even tried matching wwaveforms. I got it close, but on thing that I couldn’t get rid of was an echo effect that is in all the recordings. I don’t know if this is due to the truck itself, the microphones on the digital recorder, or possibly something else. But try as I might, I couldn’t get rid of it.

Well, I had wanted to use the recorder so that I could record thoughts in the morning as I was going to work. I could capture my “Impressions” of the mornings shave. Oh, well.

I guess I’ve turned into an “Audio Snob” and want to put something out that doesn’t give the listener a headache.

Leave a Reply

