The Barber Shop

So while I was at the barber shop I asked what they use for straight razors and how they sharpen them. The younger barber said that when he needs to sharpen his straight razor he changes the blade out. He uses one with replaceable blades. The older one uses a traditional German straight razor.

So, naturally I got to talking to the barber with the real straight razor. I have always been intrigued by the classic straight razor. Granted they scare the you know what out of me. I mean any one that has seen the movie Sweeny Todd and then hold one of these things up to your throat has nerves of steel in my opinion. On the other hand, I’ve been known to do silly things. I guess this may be one of them.

My main goal was to understand and learn how to sharpen a straight razor so that it is a viable alternative. Plus I hate admitting I don’t have the skill to do something. It’s one of my characteristics. So I’m trying to learn. We talked about strops and stones for about 20 minutes. It was a great way to spend a brief moment and develop a closer friendship. He did offer to put an edge on my razor for me. I don’t know if I’ll take him up on that but the offer is out there. (And for free too!)

Anyhow, they are both great guys and that’s one of the reasons that I keep going back.

One thought on “The Barber Shop

  1. Pingback: Toronto School for Gentlemen Course – Shaving with Straight and Safety Razors | Kingpin Chic

Leave a Reply

