Fun on eBay

Alright, I admit it…I really like eBay. I like the auctions and the searches and the final moments when I enter a bid. Yes, typically I get sniped but the thrill of the hunt is still there. The increased heart rate, the total concentration to the exclusion of the world around me…

One of the things that I enjoy doing is looking for vintage razors. Sometimes it’s a lot of fun, other times it makes you really question humanity. One of the things that I have noticed is that the auctions have, from time to time, gotten a little crazy. However, the “Buy it now” items can be found at reasonable prices…sometimes.

I was looking the other night, and if you really want a laugh, or a cry, try this. Search for vintage razors, set the format to “But it now” and sort the results from highest to lowest price. I found a vintage Gillette that was being offered for $10,000. Ok, why so much? It was used by an actor.

Now, don’t get me wrong I have no problem in someone asking anything they want for something. However sometimes I am surprised that people actually agree and pay the asking price.

So, the way I find items is to go to the buy it now section and look for the deals. They are out there. Sometimes it’s easier than scouring an antique shop.

Leave a Reply

