Razor of the week

The razor of the the week this week is the Gem Micromatic. I picked up this razor at an antique store a week ago and have been using it ever since.

I’m using PAL single edge razor blades I it. They are carbon steel and prone to rust so they must be removed and dried between use. Being carbon steel, they rust. Any residual moisture will cause them to rust. It’s not a disaster, but it’s a unique trait when compared to stainless DE blades (and I suppose stainless SE blades as well). But it’s worth it.

I have been able to achieve great shaves with this razor. Now, it is different and must be used with care initially. I call it a mini straight razor with a handle. If you use it improperly or don’t pay attention you’ll learn why.

It took a bit to figure out the angle of this razor and I think Now I have the angle thing figured out. The top plate or the head needs to essentially sit flat on your face. In this position it works great. It balances nicely in the hand. All in all, it’s a really good razor.

Interestingly, the single edge razor makes for a much more audible shave. A double edge blade makes a “scritch” sound, a single edge blade makes a “scratch” noise. I find myself listening for the feedback that this razor and blade give me. Never thought I’d be listening to my razor when I started this.

Another neat point, this razor was built somewhere from 1934 to 1940. So it’s rather unique to get a good shave and really enjoy a product that’s at least 73 years old.

Leave a Reply

